Message sent from:

Governing Body

The Governing Body has ultimate responsibility for the school.  It consists of around 20 volunteers from parents, staff and the Jewish community who support the school and act as a "critical friend".  Our job is to set the strategic direction of the school, recruit the Headteacher and continually provide feedback and input to support all aspects of school life.  We are legally responsible for the school. 

Wolfson Hillel is a voluntary aided school which means the Governing Body is responsible for the admissions arrangements.  Voluntary aid schools have a foundation (charity) which appoints a significant number of the governors.  In our case, the foundation body is the United Synagogue. 

The Governing Body includes a number of subcommittees responsible for specific areas, including Finance & Premises, JS (Jewish Studies), Curriculum, Staffing and more. 

Message from the Chair of Governors

Wolfson Hillel is a special place putting itself in the heart of the community, and always putting our children first. We are fortunate in having wonderful children who love to learn and dedicated, caring adults who are committed to help them to do so. My colleagues on the governing body work with the headteacher and her team so that children are given an opportunity to achieve the limits of their potential and to develop a secure understanding of their unique skills, qualities and ability to impact positively on the world whilst providing and exciting and relevant Jewish education enabling them to represent our community as young adults.

As a school community our purpose is a simple one; to work steadily towards achieving excellence in all aspects of our work whilst recognising the need to set manageable and realistic goals.

Thank you for looking at our website. I look forward to welcoming you as a members of our Wolfson Hillel Family

Chair of Governors

Sarah Cotton

Vice Chair of Governors

Dean Jayson

Achievement and Standards Committee

Chair - Belinda Cohen


Jewish Identity Committee

Chair - Simon Goulden


Finance and Resources Committee

Chair - Paul Wittkover


Parent Governors

Alison Waters

Ezra Carlson

Ruth Lessman


Foundation Governors

Simon Goulden

Phillipa Hart

Johnny Hoffman

Jamie Lester

Paul Wittkover

Belinda Cohen - SEN Governor

Staff / LA Governors

Marina Lamaris - Staff



Declaration of Business Interests

All governors declared in September 2017 and there we no interests to note.

Minutes of Governing Body Meetings

Click here for a link to the latest meetings minutes. All other minutes can be accessed on request from the school.

Hit enter to search